Leave a comment

Gratitude Gems: A Weekend Full of Birthdays

a birthday

Welcome to Gratitude Gems, where I show a little appreciation for the good things in my life!

This weekend I got to finally celebrate my birthday with my immediate family.  And since my brother’s birthday is just before mine and we didn’t celebrate his previously either, it was truly a family birthday affair.  Plus it was my mother-in-law’s birthday and that involved additional celebrations.  Plus plus, we also celebrated a friend’s belated birthday!  It was a weekend full of birthday goodness.

The best part about it was being surrounded by people we love.  Saturday we got to spend almost the whole day with my in-laws, who are just some of the most friendly and supportive people I know.  The bonus of marrying my husband is that I got to marry into his family, and his parents are just the best kind of people you could ever meet.

Then on Sunday, we went to lunch with some of our very best friends to celebrate an overdue birthday, and it was really like getting together with family.  There’s something to be said about friendships that don’t even feel like friendships anymore because they really are the family we chose for ourselves.  That just makes getting together and hanging out for a few hours the easiest and most natural thing to do.

And after the awesome lunch, we headed to my Mom’s for a joint birthday celebration between me and my brother.  Our birthdays are only two weeks apart so we’re used to it.  We got spoiled with a great dinner made by my Mom and our spouses, and we received some thoughtful gifts, and we had some good laughs.  I couldn’t ask for a better family, so it was the best way to end my weekend.

Birthdays are a really good excuse to get together with people we love.  I’m thankful for an awesome weekend as a result!

S

Leave a comment