Leave a comment

Gratitude Gems: Quality Time

hand holding

Welcome to Gratitude Gems, where I show a little appreciation for the good things in my life!

This past weekend with Good Friday as a statutory holiday meant that I got to spend three whole days with my husband.  And it was wonderful!

It seems a long while since Tavis was able to have a whole weekend to himself, let alone a long weekend.  As part of his job, he has to work every so often on Saturdays, which means his 2-day weekend is automatically reduced to one.  Also lately he’s been helping out a number of family and friends with various projects, which shows what a great guy he is but ultimately also cuts into his weekends and weeknights when he could be at home and/or spending time with me.

I admit that I get jealous sometimes.  Particularly now that I’m at home alone all day every day, I really look forward to seeing my husband when he gets home in the evenings and on weekends.  When other commitments cut into that, I definitely miss him.

So this past weekend, when he not only had Friday off of work but also had no commitments to help others that would keep him away for hours on end, it was a treat!  We got to sleep in three mornings in a row.  We got to be lazy together and get a couple of home projects done.  We got to spend the entire of three days in a row together.  It was fantastic.

I greatly appreciate my husband’s kindness and generosity, and his skills that can be so high in demand by others.  His helpful nature is one of the reasons I love him.  But I am greatly appreciative that, every once in a while, I get to keep him all to myself.

A very Happy Easter to you and yours!

S

Leave a comment